Medicare Provider Supplier To Healthcare Provider Taxonomy

$179 / year

This crosswalk links the types of providers and suppliers who are eligible to apply for enrollment in the Medicare program with the appropriate Healthcare Provider Taxonomy Codes. This crosswalk includes the Medicare Specialty Codes for those provider/supplier types who have Medicare Specialty Codes.


The Healthcare Provider Taxonomy Code Set is a hierarchical code set that consists of codes, descriptions, and definitions. Healthcare Provider Taxonomy Codes are designed to categorize the type, classification, and/or specialization of health care providers. The Code Set consists of two sections: Individuals and Groups of Individuals, and Non-Individuals. The Code Set is updated twice a year, effective April 1 and October 1. The “Crosswalk – Medicare Provider/Supplier to Healthcare Provider Taxonomy” was updated because of changes made to the Healthcare Provider Taxonomy Code Set that will be implemented October 1, 2008. That Code Set is available from the Washington Publishing Company. The Code Set is maintained by the National Uniform Claim Committee. The Code Set is a Health Insurance Portability and Accountability (HIPAA) standard code set. As such, it is the only code set that may be used in HIPAA standard transactions to report the type/classification/specialization of a health care provider when such reporting is required.

When applying for a National Provider Identifier (NPI) from the National Plan and Provider Enumeration System (NPPES), a health care provider must select the Healthcare Provider Taxonomy Code or code description that the health care provider determines most closely describes the health care provider’s type/classification/specialization, and report that code or code description in the NPI application. In some situations, a health care provider might need to report more than one Healthcare Provider Taxonomy Code or code description in order to adequately describe the type/classification/specialization. Therefore, a health care provider may select more than one Healthcare Provider Taxonomy Code or code description when applying for an NPI, but must indicate one of them as the primary. The NPPES does not verify with the health care providers or with trusted sources that the Healthcare Provider Taxonomy Code or code description selections made by health care providers when applying for NPIs are accurate (e.g., the NPPES does not verify that an individual who reports a Physician Code is, in fact, a physician, or a physician with the reported specialization). The NPPES does, however, validate that the Code and code description selections exist within the current version of the Healthcare Provider Taxonomy Code Set.

The Healthcare Provider Taxonomy Codes and code descriptions that health care providers select when applying for NPIs may or may not be the same as the categorizations used by Medicare and other health plans in their enrollment and credentialing activities. The Healthcare Provider Taxonomy Code or code description information collected by NPPES is used to help uniquely identify health care providers in order to assign them NPIs, not to ensure that they are credentialed or qualified to render health care.

Date Created


Last Modified




Update Frequency


Temporal Coverage


Spatial Coverage

United States


John Snow Labs; Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services;

Source License URL

Source License Requirements


Source Citation



Provider Taxonomy Code, Healthcare Provider Taxonomy Code, Medicare Crosswalk Provider Taxonomy, Medicare Specialty Codes, Taxonomy, Taxonomy Code List

Other Titles

Taxonomy Code List 2019, Healthcare Provider Taxonomy Code Set 2019

Medicare_Speciality_CodeMedicare Specialty Codes for those provider/supplier types who have Medicare Specialty Codesstring-
Medicare_Provider_Supplier_Type_DescriptionDescription for Type of Supplier for Medicare Healthcare Providerstring-
Provider_Taxonomy_CodeAlpha Numeric Unique Taxonomy Codestring-
Provider_Taxonomy_DescriptionProvider Taxonomy (DESCRIPTION: TYPE, CLASSIFICATION, SPECIALIZATION)string-
Medicare Speciality CodeMedicare Provider Supplier Type DescriptionProvider Taxonomy CodeProvider Taxonomy Description
02Physician/General Surgery208600000XAllopathic & Osteopathic Physicians/Surgery
207XP3100XAllopathic & Osteopathic Physicians/Orthopedic Surgery, Pediatric Orthopedic Surgery
C8Physician/Medical Toxicology207PT0002XAllopathic & Osteopathic Physicians/Emergency Medicine, Medical Toxicology
C3Physician/Interventional Cardiology207RI0011XAllopathic & Osteopathic Physicians/Internal Medicine, Interventional Cardiology
207XX0004XAllopathic & Osteopathic Physicians/Orthopedic Surgery/Foot and Ankle Surgery
207XX0801XAllopathic & Osteopathic Physicians/Orthopedic Surgery/Orthopedic Trauma
207XS0106XAllopathic & Osteopathic Physicians/Orthopedic Surgery/Hand Surgery
21Clinical Cardiac Electrophysiology207RC0001XAllopathic & Osteopathic Physicians/Internal Medicine, Clinical Cardiatric Electrophysiology
207XX0005XAllopathic & Osteopathic Physicians/Orthopedic Surgery, Sports Medicine
207RA0001XAllopathic & Osteopathic Physicians/Advanced Heart Failure and Transplant Cardiology